Drug Dealer

I have a cold.

I also have cancer.

Neither of these conditions are pleasant, although one is obviously a tad bit more serious than the other.  I may never know how I got cancer.  The cold?  I am pretty certain that the source of this diagnosis involves one three-year old and the careless handling of a harmonica (Who needs to wipe it off?  Just play “Camptown Ladies” and be done with it).

Anyone who is dealing with a “big” disease knows that when you add a relatively “small” condition to the mix, you have started a process of formulas, charts and graphs to ensure that if you take Nyquil with your chemo pills your ears won’t suddenly fall off.  I needed approval to take a store brand cough syrup for fear that one of the ingredients would react to my blood pressure medicine and make my blood pressure go up.  As a result of the delay, my blood pressure went up.  This is my life.

It reminds me of when we were planning our wedding reception and we had to call my mom to find out which relatives were still speaking to each other.  “You can’t sit Aunt Benadryl next to Uncle Temodar, you’ll be lucky to get through the cake-cutting!”  I understand that I am lucky to be around to have these problems, but it was so much easier when my only medicine was chewable and shaped like Fred Flintstone.

Maybe some chicken soup is in order.  As long as my doctor gives his approval first.

Keeping the faith.

Garnet

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susie Kohler on June 21, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    How about some of my chicken corn soup – it’ll cure anything that ails you!!!
    Love & peace,
    Susie

    Reply

  2. Posted by Alysia & Matthew on June 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    bless you (in case you sneeze while reading this). Hope you feel better on all fronts.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nancy (Stevens) Kauffman on June 22, 2011 at 7:12 am

    So sorry you have a nasty cold. Most OTC DRUGS say all these things about BP, thyroid and other prescribed drugs. So inconclusion, that’s so all of us prescribed drug users are causious about what were doing when we need to take all these good drugs. You just need to remember to wash your hands alot and sometimes that seems to be never ending. This As I know it is called A UNIVERSAL PRECAUTION. wE ALL NEED TO PRACTICE THIS MORE NOW THAN EVER. Chicken Soup is good and plenty of liquids.

    Reply

  4. It is amazing how the little things get to us when they are added to the ‘big’ things.
    Praying for you today.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Laurie Wright on June 22, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Hang in there Garnet! Thinking of you daily.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ellen E on June 22, 2011 at 11:23 am

    So when does your book on beating cancer and the common cold debut? (Just saying…)

    Be well, my friend!
    E

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kim Ruppert on June 22, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Very cute and yet gets the point across. People don’t realize all the ramifications of a disease and the medicines or strategies that go with it. This is similar to when we thought Zach had celiac disease. No wheat, barley, oats, rye or gluten products. I learned food ingredients like never before. Uncle Ragu could not be visited because it has maltodextrin in it, which is a barley derivative. Aunt Jemima may look wonderful in her turban, but she contains wheat – no pancakes with syrup for you today buddy. We still go through it with Zach’s thyroid. High concentrations of soy and certain ingredients in cold medicines contraindicate thyroid medications. So, I can relate Garnet. Hang in there buddy, we all are praying for you that this will soon be a thing of the past.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Julie Gaver on June 22, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Feel better, Garnet.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Donna Weimer on June 22, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    You make me laugh every day! I hope that when you are finished dealing with this ugly disease you move onto your next job which has to be to continue writing in some form or another. I know Kevin is smiling – the only other guy I know who LOVES those Flinstone Vitamins. Whoops! Didn’t mean to call him out on that one! It was so good to see you first, and then hear you second on Friday night. You are in our prayers each and every day. So good to have you back in our lives! Love and prayers, Donna (and family)

    Reply

  10. Posted by Maggie on June 22, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Make lemonade with real lemon juice. Refreshing on a hot summer day and the lemon juice is a natural expectorant. I don’t like cough syrup at all and this has worked for me and it’s all natural. And goes well with chicken soup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 886 other followers

