Game Ball

I am not a huge fan of New Year’s Day.  If I am ranking the holidays, January 1 finds a spot somewhere in between Arbor Day and National Talk Like a Pirate Day.  I have never enjoyed resolutions and I like pork and sauerkraut even less.  The only positive with the first day of the year is football and I watched just enough to keep my position as a card-carrying member of U.S. citizens (Male division).

For non-pigskin fans, I should explain that some college teams traditionally give out helmet stickers for outstanding performances on the field, while others give out game balls.  The best player does not always get the game ball, in fact it is not always a player who is awarded the honor.  Coaches, owners and even people not directly associated with the team have been on the receiving end of the prestigious pass.

With the bowl season as inspiration, it is time to award game balls for Team Garnet.

Game ball #1 goes to Melissa I., who salvaged an awful week with a tremendously thoughtful gift.   It does not matter what the gift was, this is a case of “it’s the thought that counts“.  This is not a subtle attempt to fill my mailbox, this is a reminder that someone else probably needs to hear from you.  Try not to waste time worrying about what to send or what to write, as “Thinking of you” carries much more weight than anything you could buy.

Game ball #2 goes to my bosses, who have been incredibly flexible since my initial diagnosis.  This week, I have several hospital visits in several different states.  When I asked for time off, they supported me.  When I asked for a change in schedule, they supported me.  When they found out that I wanted to take eight months off to audition for “Skating with the Stars”, they…well, you can only ask for so much.  If you get a chance to work for someone who can balance the professional with the personal, do it.  With the exception of the “Skating with the Stars” incident, of course.

Game ball #3 goes to my wife and sister (two different people, thank you), who dedicated so much time setting up the Garnet Stevens “One if by land, two if biopsy” World Tour.  These two determined women made things happen so quickly that I am worried that I will either have to testify on their behalf later or that they have volunteered me for additional top-secret testing after I am feeling better.  Plus, both of them combined for 17 tackles and my wife had an interception.  Great effort all around.

Keeping the faith and looking forward to next week’s game.

Garnet

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by June Rudy Fogle on January 3, 2011 at 12:55 am

    Hi Just going up to the attic to look for Bobs old football suit and my cheerleader outfit!! We are on the team for sure, even if we no longer fit in the forementioned duds. Thinking of you and Holly each and every day! Go Team!!! RAH RAH!!!! June

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sharon Bigler on January 3, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Good morning, Garnet. I found my old baton, but will have to forgo the fire-twirling routine…..I know you’re disappointed, but my eyebrows never did grow back after the infamous Community Club Awards kick-off party.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 902 other followers

